Chapter meeting: Monday the 19th, 7:00 p.m.

The Clear Lake Area Chapter will meet on Monday, August 19th in the conference room of the Bay Area Community Center in Clear Lake Park. Doors open at 6:30; meeting begins at 7:00 p.m. Light refreshments, sodas and bottled water will be available. The address is 5002 NASA Road 1; Seabrook, Texas. The Community Center is north of NASA 1, away from the lake; enter through the side door adjacent to the parking lot as the main entrance may be locked after 5:00 p.m.

At this meeting nominations will open for chapter officers and directors for 2020. Nominations will also be accepted via email to up through11:59 p.m. Friday, October 11th and voted on at our October business meeting. Nominations require a second if made in person or two independent nominations if made by email. You can only nominate one candidate for each position, whether in person or by email. You must be a member in good standing of the National Space Society and/or the Moon Society and have indicated that you wish to be considered a member of this Chapter.

For information, the current slate of officers and positions is as follows:

  • President: Eric Bowen
  • Vice-President: Doug Hall
  • Treasurer: Jay Lewchanin
  • Secretary: Vacant
  • Director, Position 1: Marianne Dyson
  • Director, Position 2: Keith Dauzat
  • Director, Position 3: Larry Friesen

Candidates for all officer positions and for Director, Position 1 must be or must be willing to become members in good standing of BOTH the National Space Society and The Moon Society. Candidates for Director, Position 2 must be a member in good standing of the National Space Society. Candidates for Director, Position 3 must be a member in good standing of The Moon Society.

Our next regularly scheduled meeting following this one will be our annual business meeting on Monday, October 21st; same time and place. Looking forward to seeing you then, too!